Glenturret 10-year-old

Bought: Whisky Galore 5th August, 2014

Ratings:
76/100 – Whisky Bible 2014
88/100 – Ralfy, of http://www.ralfy.com
Review: – Ralfy – Glenturret 10yo – YouTube (July 2013)

Like the Deanston 12yo I last blogged about, there’s a similar disparity in marks between Jim Murray in his Whisky Bible and Ralfy. All Jim says about his 76/100 is “lots of trademark honey but some less than impressive contributions from both cask and the stillman”. If you then watch Ralfy’s video review you’d be forgiven for thinking he was talking about a different whisky altogether. He talks about how professionally it was made (perhaps they replaced the stillman for Ralfy’s bottle?!) and how fresh and complex it is. Also Ralfy mentions that he’s drunk 17yo whisky that tasted younger than this Glenturret 10yo.

Whoever’s view I have, all that truly matters is my own personal opinion once the stopper goes pop. My vintage Glenturret 8yo is running low so I needed to replace it and the 10yo was the obvious choice. It’s readily available here in the UK. Naturally I’m hoping I side with Ralfy’s view once I’ve tasted it. The only versions of Glenturret that Jim Murray marks in the 90s are by two independent bottlers in Germany. I managed to find a 5cl sample of one for about £10 but at £12 postage to the UK, it makes no sense ordering it. Certainly not if the 10yo is as good as Ralfy says.

Glenturret 10yo 70cl

Leave a comment