Jim Beam ‘Devil’s Cut’ 90 Proof

Bought: Tesco, 12th June 2015

Ratings:
8.5/10 – Whisky Wednesday (video review below)
76.11/100 – Whiskybase (average from 49 member votes)

A new bourbon to add to my collection for £20 from Tesco?! Oh, go on, if I must! I’d heard of the Angel’s Share but the Devil’s Cut was new to me. This is the spirit that gets absorbed into the cask. I can imagine that would have quite an intense, concentrated flavour. Jim Beam manage to extract it with a process of steaming/sweating. However it’s done it can’t be too laborious or the whisky would be over £100 per bottle!

Although 76/100 on Whiskybase is a fairly hmmm score the experienced whisky reviewer Mark Dermul gives the Devil’s Cut a healthy 82/100 with a closing remark of “it is indeed significantly better than the standard Jim Beam bourbon, available for around 30 EUR, which is fair. Goes down very well in a tumbler with a cube of ice. Oh, blasphemy!” I wouldn’t worry Mark because I tend to have cheap bourbon with coke – shocking!

I’ve added an excellent video review below by Jo of Whisky Wednesday on You Tube, which gives some background about the creation process and insight into the taste experience for this interesting bourbon:

Jim Beam Devil's Cut NAS 70cl

Leave a comment