Daily Archives: August 26, 2015

Linkwood 15-year-old 100 Proof (G&M)

Bought: Online Whisky Auction, 20th May 2015

Ratings:
87.43/100 – Whiskybase (average from 9 member votes)
86/100 – Malt Maniacs (average from 5 member votes)

Sometimes you get lucky at an auction. I thought I was bidding on the 40% version of this old Linkwood 15yo by Gordon & MacPhail (G&M). When the package arrived in the post I discovered it was the 57% version (100 Proof). The auction house forgot to include this in the description, which explains why I got it for so little (£3.25). A full 75cl bottle sold at auction 3 months earlier for £125. A 5cl share of that bottle equates to £8.33. I was a happy man, even without a drink in my hand!

According to Malt Maniacs this version of Linkwood was first produced by G&M in c.1988. At this point my brain always subtracts the age of the whisky, so my dram could have been distilled as early as 1973. Although I’ve been unable to find any written reviews, both the scores on Whiskybase and Malt Maniacs suggest a quality whisky. I could put it back into an auction and double my money or drink it. Hmmm, I think a taster is too tempting!

Linkwood 100 Proof 15yo 5cl