Glenglassaugh ‘Revival’

Bought – Amazon, 3rd June, 2014

Ratings:
75/100 – Whisky Bible 2014
82/100 – Malt Maniacs (average from 4 reviews)
79.1/100 – Whiskybase (average from 159 member votes) – 2012 (1st) edition)

I’ve been saying for months that I’d finished my whisky collection, having an example of single malt from every active distillery in Scotland. Technically I was wrong because I had ‘spirit drinks’ from Glenglassaugh that were too young to legally be called ‘whisky’. I knew Jim Murray (Whisky Bible author) wasn’t a fan of the ‘Revival’ but everyone should be his or her own judge. At 46%, non-chill filtered and natural colour, the Revival has the makings of an excellent whisky, so long as the creative process has gone well.

In March 2014 I found myself in The Grill, an excellent pub and whisky bar in Aberdeen, Scotland, wondering what to drink. I decided to try the Revival and instantly loved it. Jim Murray’s issue with this whisky is the poor choice of casks (he recommends ex-bourbon rather than new sherry butts) and the presence of sulphur. Thankfully I didn’t detect the latter and I was very happy with the sherry maturation. The average score of 82/100 from the Malt Maniacs is good so I’m glad someone else agrees with me. It’s definitely one worth trying, especially if you see Amazon selling it at a good price AND free delivery.

In the You Tube review below by Scotch 4 Dummies, the guys make some nice comments about the Revival but sulphur is detected and the ultimate score is a lowly 1.25/4. Ben Bowers of ‘A Dram a Day’ also reviews it on You Tube and he too isn’t a fan. Perhaps it’s only a good whisky when drunk in a bar with lots of distractions! Here are Scotch 4 Dummies (November 2016):

Glenglassaugh Revival 70cl

Leave a comment