Daily Archives: January 30, 2014

Loch Ranza (Arran distillery)

Bought – Online Whisky Auction, 22nd December 2013

Ratings:
83/100 – Whisky Bible 2006

It seems that this blend from the Arran distillery had a name change from “Loch Ranza” to “Lochranza” with the latter being the new bottling. Jim Murray mentions both old and new in his bible for 2006. The old style bottle I have gets the remark “A good, solid chewy blend of some panache. But a tad more bitter and toffeed than the present new bottling.” He then goes on to give the new bottling, the Lochranza, 78/100 so I’m glad I got the better, older example!

I read on the ‘Master of Malt’ website that the Lochranza blend consists of mainly Arran whisky, so when I finally open this miniature for tasting I’ll see if I can spot the Arran element.

Loch Ranza - Arran - 5cl