Bladnoch 8-year-old (1980s)

Bought – Online Whisky Auction, 4th December 2013

Ratings:
85/100 – Whisky Fun (October 2005)
78/100 – Malt Maniacs (average from 6 reviewers)

Usually it’s very difficult to trace an old bottle of whisky back to when it was first produced (if it doesn’t have a distillation date on the label) but, thanks to Whisky Fun and Malt Maniacs, I was able to identify this bottle as ‘late 1980s’. Saying that, I don’t know when this version of Bladnoch stopped being produced – damn! But, as Bladnoch was closed in 1993, and not reopened again until 2000, I know this bottle wasn’t produced after 1993.

This is my 2nd example from Bladnoch distillery, my first being an 11-year-old distilled in 2001 shortly after Bladnoch was relaunched under new management. It will be interesting to compare the new with the old. The Whisky Fun review of this 1980s bottle says “Excellent, very typically Bladnoch, I’d say”. So it’s nice to know this small bottle provides a taste history of what Bladnoch used to be like.

Bladnoch 8yo 5cl

Leave a comment