Tormore 29-year-old

Bought – Whisky Broker, 29th November 2013

Ratings:
86/100 – Whiskybase (average from 6 member votes)

My Christmas day blog post. You’d think I’d have something better to do than this?! But if one of the 3 wise men going to visit Jesus had been a Scot, you can be certain he’d have taken a whisky with him to wet the baby’s head with Joseph. A dram at Christmas to a Scot is like haggis on Burns night. It just is, OK!!! 🙂

I’ve always said I don’t get tempted by the age of a whisky but, I lied. I’ve read and heard several reports over the years that, in general, the best age for a whisky, much like we humans, is in the mid to late teens. Sometimes there can be a magical 25-year-old malt, or a 40yo, etc., but, even when you find them, they command far too much money when you compare their price and quality to a good 15yo. Then I spot this 29yo Tormore, a full 70cl bottle, for £65 from the Whisky Broker. No reviews so it’s a bit of a punt but if one of the bigger independent bottlers were selling it we’d be talking £100+. It seems a bargain, and a chance to taste something with plenty of maturity.

The problem with getting an expensive bottle with lots of age is, can I bring myself to drink it?! The temptation is to hide it away for 10 to 20 years and then sell it for a fortune. Except, I don’t think this is a collector’s piece. For one thing it would be easy to fake the original seal so if I tried to sell it in 20 years, nobody will be sure that the whisky inside is genuine. OK, I’ve convinced myself to drink it – YES! 🙂 And I’ve recently acquired a 10yo Tormore so I’ll have something young from the distillery to compare against.

Happy Christmas!

Tormore 29yo 70cl

Leave a comment