Abhainn Dearg

Bought – Justminiatures, 13th November 2013

Ratings:
91/100 – Whisky Bible 2013

I’d originally been hoping to get a bottle of ‘Spirit of Lewis’ by Abhainn Dearg but when I came to buy it I couldn’t find it anywhere. Not to be defeated I bought this different example from the distillery. It certainly gets Jim Murray’s thumbs-up in his Whisky Bible!

Abhainn Dearg was founded in 2008 so this is quite a new spirit. It will be interesting to see how releases of more mature malts do and if the initial high standards are kept. I’ve got a good feeling they will be. As the only distillery on Lewis, and indeed in the Outer Hebrides, Abhainn Dearg is a ‘must have’ for any collector. Also known for being the western-most distillery in Scotland.  Natural colour, non-chill filtered and 46%, which is all good news!

Abhainn Dearg 5cl

Leave a comment