Wild Turkey (86.8 Proof)

Bought – Online Whisky Auction, 31st October 2013

Ratings:
88/100 – Whiskybase (from 1 member vote)

At last, another bourbon! I’ve been debating for a while between getting a new bottle of 81 or 101 when I spotted this vintage bottle of Wild Turkey up for auction. Nobody was interested in it so I got it for the opening bid of £1. Bargain!

A label on the back of the bottle says “Imported by Atkinson, Baldwin & Co, Regent Street, London.” I did my research and this company was formed on 2nd October 1923 and dissolved on 14th November 2006, at which time they’d moved from London to Uxbridge. I couldn’t find out when they moved from Regent Street but clearly my bottle is older than 2006. It looks quite a bit older but not dating back as far as 1923, unfortunately! The company was described as for “wholesale alcohol and other drinks”.

From hunting about on forums this bottle seems to be from the 1970s or 1980s, made from 7-year-old whiskey and considered by several experienced bourbon drinkers as having a better, fuller flavour than the modern day version. Now the question still remains, do I get a 81 or a 101 to compare this one against?! Heck, why not get both!!!

Wild Turkey 5cl

2 responses to “Wild Turkey (86.8 Proof)

  1. Carol W. Casey

    I have a 750 ml Wild Turkey 86.8 proof and want to sell it. How much should I ask. The tax stamp is in tack and in perfect condition.

    • I’m no expect so my first port of call would be to Google whisky auction sites in your country and then search for “Wild Turkey” in previous auctions. That will show you what similar bottles have achieved. At an educated guess you might get as much as £30 here in the UK. Depends who is bidding. You could get £50 or £5.

Leave a comment