Daily Archives: November 20, 2013

Wild Turkey (86.8 Proof)

Bought – Online Whisky Auction, 31st October 2013

Ratings:
88/100 – Whiskybase (from 1 member vote)

At last, another bourbon! I’ve been debating for a while between getting a new bottle of 81 or 101 when I spotted this vintage bottle of Wild Turkey up for auction. Nobody was interested in it so I got it for the opening bid of £1. Bargain!

A label on the back of the bottle says “Imported by Atkinson, Baldwin & Co, Regent Street, London.” I did my research and this company was formed on 2nd October 1923 and dissolved on 14th November 2006, at which time they’d moved from London to Uxbridge. I couldn’t find out when they moved from Regent Street but clearly my bottle is older than 2006. It looks quite a bit older but not dating back as far as 1923, unfortunately! The company was described as for “wholesale alcohol and other drinks”.

From hunting about on forums this bottle seems to be from the 1970s or 1980s, made from 7-year-old whiskey and considered by several experienced bourbon drinkers as having a better, fuller flavour than the modern day version. Now the question still remains, do I get a 81 or a 101 to compare this one against?! Heck, why not get both!!!

Wild Turkey 5cl

Rob Roy

Bought – Online Whisky Auction, 31st October 2013

Ratings:
88/100 – Whisky Bible 2006

Because I bought this miniature at auction I don’t know its exact age but it looks quite new.  One of the principal blends from the Bowmore distillery on Islay, Jim Murray in his 2006 bible says of it “a profound whisky with big malt character and impressive complexity. A real no-nonsense, blend-drinker’s dram.”

Rob Roy 5cl

Bell’s Collection (4x5cl)

Bought – Online Whisky Auction, 31st October 2013

Since I bought these 4 miniature bottles of Bell’s as a job lot I thought I’d post them all together. They are:

  • Bell’s ‘Islander’ (NAS, 40%)
  • Bell’s Very Rare Royal Reserve (21-year-old)
  • Bell’s DeLuxe (12-year-old)
  • Bell’s Fine Old Scotch Whisky (12-year-old, 40%)

Prior to the auction I didn’t have any examples of Bell’s in my collection so I took a punt and got all four for £2.25. Clearly they’re nothing special at that price but I thought they’d be interesting to contrast and compare (especially the 21-year-old).

Bell's Islander 5cl

Bell's 21yo Royal Reserve 5cl

Bell's DeLuxe 12yo 5cl

Bell's Fine Old 12yo 5cl