Daily Archives: November 19, 2013

Lochindaal 10-year-old

Bought – Online Whisky Auction, 31st October 2013

Ratings:
81/100 – Whiskybase (from one member vote)

Like the Tambowie, this Lochindaal is one of those mystery malts where the contributing distillery is unclear. I read on a forum about the Lochindaal, and I quote “Loch Indaal is the loch on islay, as well as the old name of the Port Charlotte distillery. The Loch indaal should be either Bruichladdich (if non peated) or Bowmore (if peated).” So only tasting it will reveal its true origin!

Whilst I was bidding on this mini bottle I was frantically hunting on Google to see if I could find a price for a similar version. I was stunned to discover that someone had paid £8.50 for an empty bottle on Ebay. £8.50?! My winning bid was £6.25 and I got a little bit of whisky inside as an added bonus! 🙂

Lochindaal 10yo 5cl

Ross Priory (Bowmore)

Bought – Online Whisky Auction, 31st October 2013

It was clear from the number of Bowmore miniatures for sale in the auction that someone was selling off a collection. I had no idea Bowmore had so many obscure releases! There were Bowmore bottlings for different birds of Britain, airplanes, Scottish Power, railway lines, famous golfers and even one for the centenial of the Forth Road Bridge.

I attempted to bid on several bottles but ended up with only one, paying £1.50 for a Bowmore labelled for Ross Priory, which is the recreational and conference centre for the University of Strathclyde in Glasgow. This venue caters for weddings, provides bed and breakfast and offers golf, angling and boating. With a bar and a lounge bar it’s a perfect place to have a mini whisky available for guests. A malty souvenir to remember the place by.

This is another miniature that nearly had me fooled. I thought it was a single malt but it says on the label “Blended and Bottled by Morrison Bowmore” so that sounds like a blend to me. Bowmore’s principal blends are Rob Roy and Black Bottle, so I’ll have to try this Ross Priory and see if it contains one of the standard Bowmore blends.

Bowmore Ross Priory 5cl

Taranty (Glencadam) 15-year-old

Bought – Online Whisky Auction, 31st October 2013

Like the Cawdordew I posted about yesterday, this is another curiously named malt by ‘The Whisky Connoisseur’ bottlers. I did a hunt for ‘Taranty’ and there’s a Taranty Fair in Brechin, where we find the Glencadam distillery and the source of this bottle. That makes sense. I then attempted to find out the meaning of the word ‘taranty’ and from the number of geneology links I got it appears to be a surname with origins in France. That suggests that the Taranty Fair was started by someone called Taranty, which also makes sense. As for the whisky itself, stopping writing this and drinking it makes complete sense!

Glencadam 'Taranty' 15yo 5cl