Daily Archives: October 30, 2013

Linkwood 18-year-old

Bought – Whisky Broker, 25th October 2013

Ratings:
80.67/100 – Whiskybase (average from 3 member votes)

My third and final bottle from the Whisky Broker (until my next purchase). It’s also my 3rd different age statement of Linkwood so perhaps I’m becoming a Linkwood collector?! I will be interested to try this 18yo and compare it against the 15yo and 13yo bottlings. My main aim is to see if I can detect an underlying taste that’s quintessentially Linkwood. Is this possible?

The details for this 18yo are:

This Speyside whisky, distilled on 5th June 1995 at Linkwood Distillery has been matured in an oak hogshead for over 18 years. The whisky has not been chill filtered, nor has any colouring been added. It has been bottled at natural cask strength.

This whisky has been lightly filtered to remove large particles of wood sediment from the cask, but may still contain small traces, which are visible only when bottle is left standing for a period of time. Details:

  • Hogshead number 7122
  • Distilled 5th June 1995
  • Bottled 19th June 2013
  • Strength: 51.2% vol
  • Bottle Size: 200ml

Linkwood 18yo 20cl