Glenlivet 12-year-old (new)

Bought – Sainsbury, 22nd October 2013

Ratings:
79.5/100 – Whisky Bible 2013
83/100 – Ralfy, of www.ralfy.com
Review: – Ralfy – Glenlivet 12yo – YouTube

I wasn’t intending to get a new Glenlivet until I’d finished my old bottle (about 20 years old!) but I couldn’t resist this 35cl half bottle reduced from £18 to £12. The ratings for this particular version of Glenlivet aren’t going to set the heart-a-flutter but it’s one of those regular releases you can rely upon as a decent dram. After all these years you’ve got to suspect that the staff at Glenlivet know what they’re doing. The quality is reflected in the price and vice versa. At the time I’m writing this I can also buy a 20cl bottle of Talisker 10yo from a supermarket for £12, the same price as this bigger bottle of Glenlivet. This is definitely a case of ‘you get what you pay for’. My version of that is – a nice dram for not a lot of money. The added bonus is that I’m getting a bottle with the Glenlivet name, which still carries a lot of respect as one of the big boys with history in the wonderful world of whisky.

Glenlivet 12yo 35cl

Leave a comment