Daily Archives: October 22, 2013

Linkwood 13-year-old (Old Malt Cask)

Bought – The Whisky Shop, 18th October 2013

My second ‘Old Malt Cask’ having bought a Glengoyne last month. It’s also my 2nd Linkwood having got a more mature 15yo by Gordon & MacPhail. As usual with the ‘Old Malt Cask’ range this 13yo is un-chill filtered and has no colouring added. It was distilled in May 1997 and bottled in June 2010. 50% in strength so I’ll definitely be adding a bit of water!

It was purely by chance that I acquired this Linkwood. I’d ordered a bottle of Dailuaine from ‘The Whisky Shop’ only to be told that it was no longer available. I was offered my money back or something different. The Linkwood was £1 more than the Dailuaine but they were kind enough to take the hit, given they’d failed to supply what I’d originally ordered.

Unfortunately I can’t find any reviews yet for this bottling, even on the extensive list on Malt Maniacs for Linkwood.

Linkwood 13yo 20cl