Old Pulteney 12-year-old

Bought – Tesco, 24th September 2013

Ratings:
90.5/100 – Whisky Bible 2013
90/100 – Ralfy, of www.ralfy.com
Review: – Ralfy – Old Pulteney 12yo – YouTube (April 2015)

This is another family favourite, especially enjoyed by my great uncle up in Lerwick, Shetland. You’re going to want something nice and warming up there, other than a woolly jumper, so a glass or two of Old Pulteney is a good choice. My cousin in Edinburgh was given a bottle for his 60th birthday and he shared a glass with my brother recently who said it was delicious. It’s often described as a very good beginner’s malt but that’s not to belittle it in any way. As you can see from its ratings, experienced whisky drinkers still value its qualities.

If I enjoy this bottle as much as I’m expecting to, the only way is up with a bottle of Old Pulteney 21-year-old. This gets top marks of 97.5/100 from Jim Murray in his latest bible. I was tempted to get it instead of the 12yo until I realised it was £80. When the 12yo is on offer in the supermarkets you can get 3 bottles for £80 and still have change for a taxi home (after drinking a bottle in the supermarket extrance until being asked to leave). But maybe if I win the lottery that 21yo will be mine!

Old Pulteney 12yo 70cl

Leave a comment