Daily Archives: September 26, 2013

Fettercairn ‘Fasque’

Bought – Tesco, 24th September 2013

Ratings:
79.08/100 – Whiskybase (average from 15 member votes)

I was all set to buy a bottle of Fettercairn 2002 10yo ‘Old Malt Cask’ from ‘The Green Welly Stop’ for £16.10 (20cl) when I spotted this bottle of Fasque in Tesco. What is this stuff?! I had a look for reviews but I didn’t find any that I thought were reliable. Several people were asking about it on forums and were being put off buying it by responses saying it was terrible, then admitting that they’d never tasted it. I can understand that sort of attitude if everyone has been reading the Whisky Bible about Fettercairn. Jim Murray isn’t a fan unless it’s the 40-year-old version which he gives 92/100. But most of us aren’t prepared to sell our car for a bottle of Fettercairn so we need to find alternatives to experience what this distillery has to offer. To clearly express Jim’s love of Fettercairn he gives the ‘1824’ version 69/100 and says of it “by Fettercairn standards, not a bad offering.” Damned with faint praise.

My brother informs me that Fettercairn specifically make the Fasque for Tesco. Whether this is true I’m not sure but my brother is usually spot on. Forum discussions have confirmed that Tesco stocked the Fasque in 2012 so they’ve obviously thought it worthwhile to buy in again for 2013. I know from other distilleries, like Deanston supplying Marks & Spencer, that it’s not in the distillery’s interest to piss-off a supermarket by sending them meths in sheep’s clothing. On that basis, I’ll drink the Fasque with an open mind rather than tainted by Jim Murray’s dislike of Fettercairn and forum guessers’ inexperienced views.

Here’s Whiskey Vault on YouTube with their thoughts about the Fettercairn Fasque (Dec 2016):

Fettercairn Fasque 70cl

Old Pulteney 12-year-old

Bought – Tesco, 24th September 2013

Ratings:
90.5/100 – Whisky Bible 2013
90/100 – Ralfy, of www.ralfy.com
Review: – Ralfy – Old Pulteney 12yo – YouTube (April 2015)

This is another family favourite, especially enjoyed by my great uncle up in Lerwick, Shetland. You’re going to want something nice and warming up there, other than a woolly jumper, so a glass or two of Old Pulteney is a good choice. My cousin in Edinburgh was given a bottle for his 60th birthday and he shared a glass with my brother recently who said it was delicious. It’s often described as a very good beginner’s malt but that’s not to belittle it in any way. As you can see from its ratings, experienced whisky drinkers still value its qualities.

If I enjoy this bottle as much as I’m expecting to, the only way is up with a bottle of Old Pulteney 21-year-old. This gets top marks of 97.5/100 from Jim Murray in his latest bible. I was tempted to get it instead of the 12yo until I realised it was £80. When the 12yo is on offer in the supermarkets you can get 3 bottles for £80 and still have change for a taxi home (after drinking a bottle in the supermarket extrance until being asked to leave). But maybe if I win the lottery that 21yo will be mine!

Old Pulteney 12yo 70cl

Grant’s Family Reserve

Bought – ASDA, 2nd September 2013. Formed part of a 3 x 5cl set called “The Discovery Collection” with a Grant’s Ale Cask Finish and a Grant’s Sherry Cask Finish.

Ratings:
94/100 – Whisky Bible 2013
85/100 – Ralfy, of www.ralfy.com
Review: – Ralfy – Grant’s Family Reserve – YouTube

Grant's Family Reserve 5cl

Grant’s Ale Cask Finish

Bought – ASDA, 2nd September 2013. Formed part of a 3 x 5cl set called “The Discovery Collection” with a Grant’s Family Reserve and a Grant’s Sherry Cask Finish.

Ratings:
89/100 – Whisky Bible 2013

Grant's Ale Cask Finish 5cl

Grant’s Sherry Cask Finish

Bought – ASDA, 2nd September 2013. Formed part of a 3 x 5cl set called “The Discovery Collection” with a Grant’s Family Reserve and a Grant’s Ale Cask Finish.

Ratings:
82/100 – Whisky Bible 2013

Grant's Sherry Cask Finish 5cl

The Spice Tree

Bought – Marks & Spencer, 4th September 2013

Ratings:
95.5/100 – Whisky Bible 2013
91/100 – Affordable Whisky – His review on YouTube (September 2012)
88/100 – RalfyHis review on YouTube (November 2014)

I’d heard about Compass Box and how they made interesting and excellent blends. What I hadn’t expected was to find a bottle of theirs in my local Marks & Spencer. The Whisky Bible mentioned that Deanston did a version of their 12yo for M&S that was 10 points better than their normal 12yo. Talk about making sure the big supermarket gets the best quality stuff! Unfortunately it seems, according to the M&S website, that Deanston is no longer in stock. Oh well, never mind, because ‘The Spice Tree’ was an excellent, and rather different alternative. As you can see from the picture below some tasting has been going on and it’s certainly a very yummy blend. My tasting ability hasn’t matured to the stage that I detected all the complexities but I did enjoy that touch of spice that gives it its name. It’s certainly one to revisit, and revisit, and revisit. 🙂

The Spice Tree 70cl